Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

About Refueling, Jerry Cans and Bonding

Hey Fellow Pilots,

I have been searching and digging about the issue “self fueling”. I just want to make it as safe as possible and mitigate the risks. Because, this is going to change the scenario of my operation. I am about to acquire a Tecnam P2008 JC MK II, at the end of July, 2020. I have to refuel the airplane with MOGAS(EN 228 E5) by myself at one of the bases I plane to operate. I have been flying for 20 years but unfortunately this is my first time to wear the operator, pilot glasses. All my refueling before done by professionals. I am still waiting for the permission to have a fuel bowser at the airport. So, my only option is for some period of time is jerry can refueling.
What I have learnt about from my readings , I am planning to buy a conductive funnel, grounding / bonding cables, anti static gloves, and jerry cans ( metal ?? or plastic??).
I would like to hear your safety tips, advice and all ideas about the issue which I greatly concern and worry.
Every input is valuable. Thanks for your support.

What do you think about these? :

Last Edited by SkyWagon at 10 Jun 11:18
Fly , Cycle and Run
LTBJ,LTFB, Turkey

I fly a permit aircraft from a grass strip. The plane takes mogas. When fuelling at base, we use 20L metal jerry cans and a Mr Funnel. We have a couple of smaller, plastic 10L jerry cans that we take on trips for refuelling away from base, and a smaller Mr Funnel. No bonding cable or any special gloves. Sometimes I wear the disposable plastic gloves you get from the petrol station to keep my hands clean, but more often than not, don’t. Occasionally I have filled up using AVGAS at a larger airport where it’s not been possible to easily source Mogas nearby. In these cases, of course I’ll use the grounding/bonding cable there.

EGBJ and Firs Farm, United Kingdom

My experience of “adventurous” refueling went approximately this way: