Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Advice for buying into a share

Hi

I’m a UK based PPL/IMCr pilot and currently discussing a couple of options for a share purchase in a 4 seat tourer with a view to stepping up from my current arrangement which is flying a PA28 in a non-equity group.

One share is a Robin DR400-180 and the other a Robin Aiglon 2(R1180TD)

As a complete novice to this can anyone provide any advice as to what questions I should be asking initially?

Any advice much appreciated

Aviatordelta

The quintessential question is whether “share” is a share in a company (i.e. a special purpose legal vehicle that owns the plane), or if it just means each of the owners privately owns a share of the plane.
Legally, it depends on the laws in your country governing taxation (i.e. if you charter the plane out, which thresholds apply for your personal income tax, or is it easier to credit the associated cost, i.e. of a particular flight, as travel expense, etc.), liability (a limited liability company can offer a risk buffer in case of negligence i.e. in an accident with passengers) and of course cost sharing and other issues.

The most important question, above everything else, IMO, is how you get along with the other owners.
You must be positively and absolutely on the same page, just like owning i.e. a boat together, and you must get along well. Don’t underestimate how just one bean counter amongst you can ruin all the other guy’s lives. There must be common level of forgiveness and generosity, because you will face unexpected costs, and issues, and there simply is no place and no time for fingerpointing. Each one of you needs to have the funds available to cope with that, because if not, the club is bound for trouble.

And technically, of course, you need to have someone with you whom you can trust, who helps you inspect the plane before you invest.