Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

SENECA V acquisition

Dear All.

I am guilty of being a mere lurker on this great forum.

I apologize for the selfish attitude but, once more, I have come here for the great infos/input/help…

I am in the process of acquiring a used Seneca V for a friend (fellow pilot and my student)

I confess that, being the one that usually fly the aircrafts, I am not a great expert on management, acquisition, inspections and aircrafts transaction in general.

I would like to have some inputs/gotcha from your valuable expertise as aircrafts owners. In general and “type” specific.

Care to help?

the Seneca V in question is a vintage 2007, fairly used, on EASA registry. It has the Avidyne avionics, WX RDR ADF and DME. Plus, all ADs are complied.

Fresh ARC (I know it does not mean ANYTHING) and has been used in norther countries for a commercial owner. MTOW is 1999kg.

Thank you for your time
lowandslow

Be sure that your friends get someone to do a complete pre-buy inspection at least, with detailed inspection of the aircraft and paperwork. It is quite common that there are issues which can be quite expensive to fix. Spending some money on this, can save you a lot of money in the long run.

JP-Avionics
EHMZ

@Jesse:

thx very much for your advise. A good prebuy is a given. Problem is, I do not know a good mechanic with PA 34 experience that I could trust.

Any inputs?
lowandslow

Last Edited by lowandslow at 28 Oct 23:03

A fine passenger friendly twin and very refined given it started off as the Twin Six. Not aware of any issues if maintenance has been kept up to date.

The 1999kg STC makes it a limited payload, short sector aircraft. Partial fuel, using the wet bottoms method of the I and II, is less flexible as wet bottoms you are still running more than three quarters full because of the higher fuel capacity. On the I and II wet bottoms on the outer tanks is roughly half tanks.