Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

"doctor killer" aircraft

As noted I am still quite new to aviation and learn an entirely new, aviation-specific language the more I read and hear about the topic. Apart from all the (sometimes ridiculous) abbreviations and acronyms I sometimes stumble over casual terms which puzzle me.

One such term is that of a “doctor killer” aircraft. I noticed this term several times on the wider internet as well as a few appearances on this forum. A quick google search seems to mostly define it as a nickname for the Beechcraft Bonanza (the model 35 V-tail version especially, example) due to a series of high-profile incidents in the 50s.

But I also found the term to be used in a broader way, refering to any GA aircraft that is

• somewhat expensive, so high-earning professionals (such as doctors) are likely buyers (because they can afford it)
  • has a comparatively high performance (fast, slippery)
  • is complex (not necessarily as defined by the FAA or EASA) or difficult to handle

I must admit that as a doctor myself, this term just “got me”. More so because I do consider the Bonanza as a good choice when/if I manage to buy my own aircraft someday. Thinking about it, I came to the conclusion that it is probably more about the pilot (the “human factors”) than the aircraft that makes a “doctor killer” (admittably many others came to the same conclusions for decades already).

So I turned the definition upside down and thought about which characteristics could possibly make me as a doctor (or other doctors or similarly high-skill, high-earning, high social status professionals) more likely to crash when flying a high-performance aircraft? During brainstorming, I came up with