Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Used Piper Meridian (and others)

From the TBM thread

I’m an expert bottom feeder, but I don’t think turbines are expensive at all if you just look a little outside the obsessive choices like TBM, PC12 and M600’s (it’s like those are the only options when you frequent boards). There are plenty of options that deliver same performance, for much less in overall cost (and yes, I’m including maintenance and purchase in this):

690B

C90

Merlin

Cheyenne

Last Edited by AdamFrisch at 04 Jan 21:39

AdamFrisch wrote:

I’m an expert bottom feeder, but I don’t think turbines are expensive at all if you just look a little outside the obsessive choices like TBM, PC12 and M600’s (it’s like those are the only options when you frequent boards). There are plenty of options that deliver same performance, for much less in overall cost (and yes, I’m including maintenance and purchase in this):

Adam, has not your recent experience perhaps shown that sometimes you get what you pay for?

EGTK Oxford

Adam,

well, your expertise has landed you with an airplane you bought in 2014 and is it actually flying yet?

While none of the airplanes you have linked are actual projects with small items like engines e.t.c. missing, at least two of them have registrations I’d not like to tamper with (4x and RF) and one of them (Merlin) is also not an airplane I’d like to try out myself, too dangerous. The Cheyenne looks nice though.

For me, an airplane should be “fly away” that is airworthy and not having “Must do now” items plus at least 1000 hrs potential on the engine(s) to be interesting.