Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

American pilot planning GA tour ex-FRA in fall 2017

Hello all,

My name is Charles Robertson and I’m a US based pilot planning a GA trip around Europe in September or October 2017. I have an instrument rating and am planning on taking a N-reg aircraft out of Frankfurt for 10-14 days. Can anyone point me to some particularly useful threads here (or elsewhere) for planning purposes? ( The trip will be me and another instrument rated pilot. I’m interested in an itinerary that is well suited to GA rather than seeing any particular place or country.)

Thanks,

C

First off – welcome!

My initial Q to you would be – have you sourced an N-reg a/c ? AFAIK there aren’t many for rent in Europe. Btw, if you cannot find one, I may be able to point you in the right direction….

Depending a bit how you define ‘fall’, but generally that’s a great time of the year for flying in Europe. I would definitely head south, France, Spain and then perhaps back via Italy, Croatia and Austria. The Grand Tour if you may. While central France is pretty boring from the air, the food tends to make up for it, Spain offers some beautiful flying (as does Portugal, but that may well be too far). Crossing back into Italy across southern France is a beautiful flight, then on to Croatia and the islands, finally up across the Alps in Austria (possibly allow for a couple of wx down days here) and then back to FRA.

Hi Charles!

Are you aware that the German aviation magazine “Pilot und Flugzeug” also has an aircraft rental outfit with two IFR-certified N-reg AA5A? They are based in EDFE which would suit your itinerary well.

My suggestions for a roundtrip through Western/Central Europe (you’ll find more about them by using the search function):

LFGA (beautiful medieval town)
LFPN (for a stay in Paris)
LFEA (beautiful bigger island)
LFEY (beautiful smaller island)
LFCS (for a stay in Bordeaux)
LESO (for a stay at the Basque coast)