Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

AOPA Accident Case Study: Communication Breakdown

A great analysis of an accident from AOPA’s Air Safety Institute.

http://www.aopa.org/AOPA-Live.aspx?watch={384817B3-70C4-4147-9C4C-2A5517FD5DEE}

LGMG Megara, Greece

Dreadful: as a Cirrus pilot myself I found it awful to watch the tragedy unfold although I had previously read a lot about it when it was discussed on COPA at the time it happened. The animation and analysis really brings it home.

What I don’t understand is why the controller cleared the accident pilot to land with another aircraft on a one mile final. Surely he should have told him to continue downwind and, above all, that he was number two in traffic to another Cirrus on a one mile final. That’s what happens every time I fly a visual approach anywhere with ATC.

EGSC

It’s different in the USA. There you can have multiple aircraft cleared to land.

“Cleared to land” in the USA, doesn’t mean that the runway is yours, but rather that it is expected to be yours by the time you get to it, but there may be other aircraft ahead of you who will use it before you.

I think that he is supposed to give him his number in traffic sequent though.

Last Edited by dublinpilot at 23 Dec 16:24
EIWT Weston, Ireland

It’s different in the USA. There you can have multiple aircraft cleared to land.

Not only in the US. I can’t remember how often I’ve been ‘cleared to land behind the landing 737, maintain best speed, another 737 on 5 mile final’ at LEMG (Malaga). They would usually include the airline (Speedbird, Shamrock, Iberia, etc) in the call, so you know what to look for.

The other Cirrus on final was “essential local traffic” and the ATCO had to inform both.

An “ICAO” clearance to land can be issued at least when the preceding has passed the threshold. If reduced runway separation minima (7.11) apply then multiple a/c can occupy the runway, which is not normally the case (7.10.1).

4444 says the following