Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Are we only airplane enthusiasts or also motor enthusiasts?

I’ve been thinking of asking this question for a while and this discussion started it a bit, so I would like to continue.

Are the people here only into airplanes or also into other motor sports? From the above mentioned thread I see that at least some of us are into motorbiking. What about cars and race driving?

I personally like driving, I’ve done a couple of trainings (rally driving, race track events, driving with my car on the Nordschleife, an F1 driving event, drifting) but I don’t have the time and resources to get it to a more serious level (e.g. buying a designated car, driving weekly, etc.), as some other (non-pilots) do. I own a sports sedan from the Bavarians and I enjoy driving it, although I have to be very careful with the speed tickets around here

I am just getting into motorbiking, having done about 150 km at the moment and getting my license is one of my motor projects for the year. I still cannot tell how much I will be riding around but at least I will know how it is.

So what about you?

LSZH, LSZF, Switzerland

Can’t say I’m a motor enthusiast. Driving an electric car (never mind my little eUp has more low end torque than a 3L V6 ). I also have an oldish BMW. Liked to follow F1 a loong time ago, and watch Rally/cross from time to time when I got nothing better to do, but cars are mostly a practical necessity, and electric cars are better than gasoline/diesel in that respect.

I “discovered” Red Bull air races half a year ago, and no motorsport (car/bike) can even start to compare with that. It is really interesting to follow, but it’s impossible to participate in any of it, because there are no low end series or anything. It’s purely a spectator thing, a circus with no grass root industry or “movement”, so it could simply disappear at any time.

I also have a boat, and like boats better than cars for recreation.