Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Avionics STCs/AML compatibility with Mods/STCs

Hi @all,

I was wondering what the restrictions are to adding particular avionics when there have been e.g. engine or slow flight mods (with STCs) applied to the aircraft. For example, the G500TXi AML only lists models (as the name suggests), this suggests that this allows to add a G500TXi to any aircraft on the AML no matter its modifications?
I assume this looks different when installing an autopilot. I assume it would need to be certified on a particular engine, e.g. if someone has the IO-520 to 550 upgrade on a Bonanza A36 or a turbo normalizer?

Thanks,
Jonas

Switzerland

My understanding is that compatibility between several STCs is the responsibility of the installer, his/her expertise and his/her common sense.

For example, in my opinion (but I am not an aircraft mechanic), installation of a G500TXi in any plane requires that the correct stalling speed, best glide speed, best rate/angle of climb speed, etc are configured into the G500TXi. I assume that can be done at installation time by the mechanic, and then no problem, he/she just has to take the new values from the slow flight mod. But if Garmin insists on hardcoding them only at the factory, and only based on the standard POH of the standard plane (not the other STC installed), then indeed we have a problem.

ELLX

This is a grey area. I have never seen any clarifications with respect to avionics or autopilots, relative to engine or slow flight mods.

Some installers take the view that the STC model list must be read exactly.

Others take a more flexible view.