Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Moral dilemma

I’m new to this forum but would appreciate some opinions. I am in a situation that will have affected someone else reading this at some point. Having flown with a pilot a few years ago who had very poor skills, nearly killed you (I am a pilot and had to grab the controls when we had stalled)and the passengers and later on had a fatal accident, would you (or should you) report your experience to the authorities whilst the investigation is on, or let the professionals do their job without interference? The accident has all the hallmarks of what I experienced first hand with the same person. I feel bad writing this as I did report the individual at the time to the CFI but was not taken seriously at the time and also don’t want to speak ill of the dead who can’t answer back and have families. I will not identify any information for obvious reasons but opinions on a moral dilemma please.

United Kingdom

Cloudyprop wrote:

would you (or should you) report your experience to the authorities whilst the investigation is on, or let the professionals do their job without interference?

Gotta ask yourself 2 questions:
1/ would the reporting change anything now?
2/ do you thrust “the professionals” doing their job?

Dan
ain't the Destination, but the Journey
LSZF, Switzerland

1/No .

2/ No and the ‘professionals’ don’t know the background of people. Risk taking, poor judgement, cocky slack attitude to flying etc. The club signs off a pilot (fear of offending, money for a paying member ?) who certainly struggled-to my mind examiners should be independent of clubs. This is where his club have some responsibility-the inevitable happened.

United Kingdom