Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

D reg aircraft - Flight Manual Supplements mandatory??

10 Posts

Looking for a little help please with my D Reg (1967) Mooney. Im new to this since its my first stint at (certified) aircraft ownership. It has for most of its existence been maintained at FWM in Hangelar near Bonn. Ive been its owner for two or three years now. When I took ownership, I discovered differences in ways that German reg aircraft differ from the UK for example (not that Im an expert on either) – Like the IFR certificate, different weight and balance schedule, a unified Bordbuch rather than engine, prop and airframe logbooks and various other items.

I have mountains of paperwork and maintenance records (going back to 1967) including the original POH from 1967- which is stamped with the Aircraft Reg number but nothing that i can see that resembles a POH or flight manual Supplement in which would reside pilot instructions for kit that has been installed since it was new- like the KFC 200 Autopilot and the GNS430 (not W).

Heres the question. Im doing my IR flight training in it and the flight training organisation are a bit shocked that there is no POH supplement – ‘what !! its a legal requirement/ how can it not have one / every aircraft weve seen has’ etc etc. Apart form the ‘legal requirement’ to carry such a thing on board, the CAMO ought to check its up to date every annual and they want a copy for their records etc.

Now i do take the point- with no real updates to the POH since 1967 how’s a pilot to know how the GNS430 works (and that its IFR certified and for what exactly) or the KFC 200 in this particular installation. Of course I have operating handbooks for each of these things and probably the installation maintenance records amongst many files…