Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Departing Greece for Schengen Destination (Greece / Schengen issues)

If I leave Greece for a Schengen destination, do I need to use a port of entry (pass through passport formalities) to do so? I have always flown from an airport with passport control to the same when arriving to/departing from Greece. As a pilot, I have treated Greece as a non-Schengen country.
So I have 2 questions:
1) do I need to go through passport control when Departing a Schengen country for destination Greece? (I understand I need a port of entry to arrive)
2)I assume that when I leave Greece in my plane, I need to leave via a port of entry, even if my destination is Schengen. BUT do I need to land at a port of entry in the Schengen country I am flying to?

For example, could I fly from a grass airfield in Italy to a Greek port of entry? Could I leave Greece and fly directly to that grass field on the return flight?

Last Edited by WhiskeyPapa at 04 Aug 19:52
Tököl LHTL

Yes.

Greek authority ends on the FIR border. What happens beyond that is not in their hands. And Italy correctly applies the Schengen/EU mechanisms.

Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany

If I leave Greece for a Schengen destination, do I need to use a port of entry (pass through passport formalities) to do so?

You need to depart from a Greek port of entry. Greece signed Schengen but disregards it.

do I need to go through passport control when Departing a Schengen country for destination Greece?

No, because Greece is a Schengen country

BUT do I need to land at a port of entry in the Schengen country I am flying to?

No; see above.

could I fly from a grass airfield in Italy to a Greek port of entry? Could I leave Greece and fly directly to that grass field on the return flight?

Yes and yes.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom