Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

FAA Instrument Rating in Europe

Hi,
I’m an Italian resident that owns a C182 N registered.
I have the EASA PPL and received the FAA conversion recently.
I’m now considering starting the FAA instrument rating training to make better use of my C182 that is IFR rated.
Can you explain me what is the situation regarding the change of legislation at this stage?
Will I be able to fly my plane IFR within EU (and UK) if I get my FAA IR licence?
Thanks in advance for for your help!
Roberto

I would not bet on it at this stage.

IIRC Italy has not opted out from the requirement that EU residents must have EASA paperwork (don’t have a good Excel reader handy so not able to check). If that is the case you won’t be able to use your FAA IR on Italy. Nor in Spain.

The UK CAA seems to imply that the opt-out is for the airspace, and they have recently introduced a US license validation process which has been subject of much discussion here.

You would be able to fly in France until April 2019. Beyond that, nobody knows.

So I would say you are better off getting the EASA CB-IR.

LFPT, LFPN

Even the CAA regime requires you to have 50 hours P1 IFR to get the concessionary IR validation, so it is not really designed for someone starting out.

I agree with @Aviathor. Accept that the bastards have ground us down and just get a CB-IR. It is nowhere near as much of a challenge as it was a few years ago.

EGKB Biggin Hill

The main thread is here.

You need the FAA papers to fly an N-reg anyway, anywhere in the world (except as provided by FAR 61.3 i.e. you can fly an N-reg on local papers issued by the airspace owner).