Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

FAA IR Training

Hi,

I’m new to the forum, so my name is Mickael, i’m a French private pilot based in south of france (Cannes LFMD ), i’ve flown in order :
PA38, PA28 warrior, archer III, TB10, 172, 150, 152, Cardinal 177RG. I have 200hours of flight and night rating.

Thanks all of you for everything nice tips, beautiful pictures of travels and interesting discussions found on this website!

I’m interested to pass an Instrument Rating now.
My goal will be to pass the FAA IR in USA, so with this i will be comfortable i think to fly somes hours in USA for touring.
The final goal will be to fly IFR in Europe on an “N” registered airplane or an European registered as i understand that after 50hours PIC IFR, it’s more easy to convert to CB-IR.
I’m considering maybe to buy an airplane in USA and bring back to Europe ( with help of a ferry pilot).

I think FAA IR training seems more adapt for a private pilot but most of the schools i saw were in sunny places ( florida, los angeles, arizona, …) and i tend to think that pilot who trained IR there didn’t get into a cloud !
Do you think in order to have a more interesting IR training is better to do this in places where weather is not too friendly ?
Do you have any schools recommendations ?

Best regards
Mickael

LFMD, France

Welcome to the forums! I would go ahead and get the rating even in good weather. Back in Europe nothing will prevent you from taking an instructor up for weather training even after you have the ticket. FWIW I hope to finish up my FAA IR in the Florida over late Dec-early January.

Tököl LHTL