Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Renting out and learning in an N reg aircraft in the UK

Hello EuroGAers,

I have opportunity to purchase a great N reg aircraft in the UK (VAT paid basis) and would be purchasing it with another person. The other person has gotten multiple licenses and ratings but I am only a PPL student. The reason this would be a good outcome is because the aircraft we’d buy is the one I’d like to fly post PPL. This will be in a trust given neither of us are US citizens/green card holders. We will want to rent/hire out the plane on a dry rate basis to a small group we are putting together (they would pay a small monthly fee in addition to hourly rate).

I have a few questions:

1. Can we legally rent out the N reg in the UK on dry hour basis? Are there any issues around this? I heard they cannot be in the public transport category hence cannot be rented out.
2. The aircraft engine is over 12 years old, despite only 100 hours since overhaul. Does that mean I can’t rent it out? Seems to be some sort of EASA rule.
3. Would we need to charge VAT?
4. Would I as the PPL student owner be able to continue training in the newly owned plane with a regular instructor? (i.e.: not an FAA instructor) – I heard the solo may be a problem.
5. If one of the renters crashes the plane and hurts himself/others on the ground, where does the liability lie? Is it with the ultimate owners?
6. Can anyone recommend any good solicitors for GA who can help us with some more questions and putting together the equity and rental agreements?

Thanks a lot

United Kingdom