Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

IMC groundschool - Static line question

10 Posts

Hi all,

I am just getting into my IMC ground school and I am working on the Static and Pitot line system.

They basically drew a pitot pipe with the static line coming out of it and also the pitot line, they put a hole in the static line and said the below....

Tt says a leak in the static pipeline makes the ASI over-read because the pressure surrounding the pipeline is lower then static because of aero dynamic suction, can anyone explain this to me in english please??!!

No complex answers please just simple logical ones!!! ;)

Also I believe a PA28 only has the Static and Pitot all in one, what effect would it have on things if the leak were in the side mounted Static line!?

Thanks

Mark

If the pitot/static was under the wing, then the air flow under the wing would create a suction effect, and the lower pressure reading would create a greater difference between the measured (but incorrect) static pressure and the dynamic pressure. The greater apparent pressure difference would cause the ASI to over-read.

The suction effect is similar to opening your DV window in the cockpit - there is a suction effect due to the slipstream.

If the leak was in the side-mounted static line then there wouldn't be a suction effect as there's no slipstream acting on the leak.

I expect this to be shot down...wasn't Bernoulli something to do with this phenomenon?

Swanborough Farm (UK), Shoreham EGKA, Soysambu (Kenya), Kenya

Mark - could you please post that diagram here?

I ask because the statement

because the pressure surrounding the pipeline is lower then static because of aero dynamic suction

is ambiguous. There may be an increase or there may be a decrease, or even no change; it all depends on where the hole it relative to the surrounding airflow.