Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Icing (merged threads)

I'm still somewhat new to IR and I am scared of icing. Heck, I occasionally wake up in the night after dreaming that I'm in an evil icing cloud...

What was your worst icing event? How much ice did you get? How did your airplane react? How long did it take until you reached a serious level of icing?

I've been receiving two types of advice:

• don't worry, a Cessna can handle a lot of ice and it's no big deal, people are greatly exaggerating
  • stay away from any cloud in freezing conditions unless you're FIKI

Icing is very "random" and this is partly why quite a lot of pilots say they have never seen much of it. There is a lot of bravado around... take it on board at your peril.

However when you get it you get it! And then it is definitely not random

My worst was collecting about 30mm of clear+rime, in about 5 minutes, at about 4000ft, in the south east UK. Bases were 1500ft, tops 4500ft (from memory). SFC OAT +3C. Temp at 4000ft (IMC) was -5C and that is the worst temperature to be in for supercooled water droplets in stratus cloud. It was a very smooth stratus, sunshine and ~100nm vis above, and OK conditions below.

I got about 5mm of ice on the climb up through it earlier, and got the big stuff when descending back into it.

The plane would not climb, and in fact started to stall, at about 100kt. At max power (and I have a TKS deiced prop, without which it would have been much worse) it would only do about 100kt. So that's a drop from 165kt to 100kt, purely due to aerodynamic degradation. No stall warning (switch frozen in the ice). A slow descent fixed it; gave me about 120kt and once I was in +1C the stuff started to melt off, but took about 30 mins to completely clean the elevator (which had the much more dangerous classical "horn" ice formation, about 3" thick). Control of the plane with the ice was "interesting" (very twitchy) but OK.