Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

HF operation on long-distance trips

Hello all, I am planning some long-distance trips this year (all being well) and will need HF for some of the remote regions I plan to cross. I am booking test for the HF RTF license, and trying to obtain appropriate HF set (probably IC-706) and ATU (SG-237) to have fitted to the aircraft.

I have some questions about the practicalities of operating HF - I have some experience as a keen HF ham-band operator when I was younger (VK2CHA back in Australia about 35yrs ago!) so I understand the vagaries of HF propagation and SSB operations in general. And no, I won't have Selcall.

What I would like help with is to understand how to find the HF frequencies I'll need: is there somewhere I can look these up? e.g. in the UK I'd like to test my airborne rig with a test call to Shanwick, but how do I find out the frequency(s) to call?

The trip(s) I am planning will take me through the Middle East and Sub-Continent areas. How would I find the freqs to use: do I just wait for the last VHF controller I speak with to tell me the frequencies, or can I prepare in advance (and channelise them in the IC-706)?

Thanks!

Andy

Yeah baby!
EGTB