Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Would you fly in the morning after a night-shift/24h shift?

This is a human-factors issue that I should best know about myself, but I am still interested in what others here have to say, as most of you have way more practical experience than I have.

As a medical doctor, I have very little time to fly, or for anything else for that matter. But there is a peculiarity in our shift system wherein I get “free” days during the week: About 4 times a month, I am on duty for 24 hrs, either in the hospital or manning an emergency physician response vehicle (Notarzteinsatzfahrzeug). These shifts usually last from about 7.30 am to 7.30 am on the next day, sometimes with slight variations (but never more than 45 mins earlier or later than 7.30 am). Example: Today, my shift started at 08.00 am, and it will conclude tomorrow at 08.00 am.

It is important to know that we’re not working for 24 hrs straight, at least usually. Most of the time is actually Bereitschaftsdienst, which as far as my English goes means “on call” or “stand by” duty. There is a decent chance to get some sleep in, sometimes even more than at home, because there are no kids to wake me up. But of course, sleeping in the hospital or in the ambulance station is not the same quality of sleep as at home. And if you are unlucky, you get one or even several emergencies during the night, keeping you awake.

Once I get off duty, the rest of the day is “free time” for me. Sometimes, I schedule a flight for the morning after such a shift. What do you think about this? How well rested does one have to be to conduct a flight safely? Is it enough to “listen” to your body or is there some “objective” ammount of tiredness that is tolerable (or not)?