Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

I bought an airplane. It was a lifelong dream. 6 months later, I'm out.

This is going around the internet currently. Not my text!

I bought an airplane. It was a lifelong dream. 6 months later, I’m out. Not because it’s expensive to own. I knew it would be. It’s not because insurance is high and hard to find. I knew that going in. And it’s not because the price of fuel doubled a month after I bought it. I can afford it. And not because “GA is dying” either. After my experience, I don’t believe GA is dying,….

…it’s long dead and we’ve just been looting the corpse. Here’s my story.

It’s been in my blood since childhood. I’ve been a pilot for 20 years, but always a renter/clubber. My flying activity level waxed and waned over the years, but recent growth in income along with “settling down” in an area with a good club and aviation community enabled me to fly a lot more. I stretched my wings to bigger, faster planes, got my instrument rating, got my wife involved, flew some Pilot’s n Paws, etc. It was a great time, but schedule availability and unreliable planes kept me looking for more.

I researched the hell out of aircraft ownership. For years. I explored build vs. buy, new vs. used, talked to tons of owners, did cost calculation spreadsheets, and so on. I got the right memberships to access the right data, forums, etc. We talked it over many times, and made careful decisions. I went in eyes wide open, or so I thought.

The perfect plane popped up for sale. As luck would have it, it was at my home airport. Fit the mission perfectly, had new paint, upgraded panel, great interior, fair price, all the right stuff. I made an offer, went under contract, and got ready to call around for a pre-buy.