Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Rotax engine reliability

This was mentioned on another current thread...

I have no personal ownership experience but have heard various stories. Commercial users tend to be less than happy and have mostly reported having abandoned the experiment, while private users tend to report favourably.

How can the two be reconciled?

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

Our Club had a Katana with Rotax engine for years and was NEVER happy with it. We sold the plane and bought a Continental version - which is pretty trouble free ...

How can the two be reconciled?

I'd guess that maintenance which is perfectly acceptable for many private users is less acceptable for commercial or fleet use. I have a mental image (having never actually seen it) of a mechanic synching the two sets of dual Bing motorcycle carbs on a Tecnam twin. The EFI version eliminates that issue, but leaves a few others: for instance wood propellers typically come with some maintenance issues.

Having looked after a Tecnam P2006T for 600 hours and a P2002-JF single for 200 hours - over the same two year period, all I can say is that they were totally reliable. We also maintained a number of other singles and twin Tecnams for private customers.

The twin was mostly used for MEP ratings and renewals, as well as a bit of demo work and private hire. The single did some ab initio training but mostly conversion/PPL hire.

Before tending to the aircraft I went on Conrad Beale's excellent 3 day training course. Even after 20+ years working on GA aircraft (and before that 9 years in the RAF), attending a Rotax course is, in my humble opinion a must. They are not the same as the heritage farm threshing engines....

As for carb balancing - not an issue. It's carried out every 100 hours and if you know what you're doing takes about the same amount of time as timing magnetos - which you don't have to do on the Rotax.