Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Mavis today (Bloomer R.I.P.)

Today I got to fly Mavis.

I did not think I would get into the air when I opened the curtains (yuck weather) but it seems Old Hay has its own micro climate. A leaking fuel drain also had a go no go moment but it has its uses being on a permit and having the head honcho along to see I don’t break the plane; he whipped it off and did whatever and hey presto it was back on and all systems go. I could not do circuits as the field was too wet and slippery and made for an interesting take-off in my clumsy hands but in an experts hands it would have been fine but I am a novice and this was the first time I have been let loose on Mavis. ? Also, we did not want to tear up the strip.

Most of my taildragger time is in the Cub so it is very interesting to compare the two machines. Same engines, so I think fair to compare. The Luscombe wins hands down for me. It is soooooooo much lighter on the controls. The Cub by comparison feels like I am flying a tractor without power steering. So once I started to get used to the light controls things settled down. The flight was not without its silly mistakes which made me as mad as a hornet with myself but then I laughed and stopped trying so hard, things improved. Story of my life. Reading as much material I could find on the Luscombe, I got the impression that it could be a bit of a handful. I did not find this to be the case. I could see how it might get a bit twitchy if flown with out respect but is that not the case for all dragger flying or indeed aviation in general. I look forward to getting to grips with Mavis – Oooh er.

?