Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Procedural service

I went on a bimble round the South East today. Tuned into Lydd, I was listening to an aircraft that was on the ILS procedural service. He was cleared for the procedure and asked to report at the 14 DME. Nothing more was heard from him until Approach asks him if he has reached the 14 DME yet to which he goes "oops, sorry we forgot to report 14 DME and we are now established on the localiser is that ok" and giggles. As I am a humble IMCr pilot I have always thought you needed to be cleared onto the localiser, is this not the case? If you are cleared for the procedure, can you in fact fly the whole thing right down to minima with out speaking to ATC again? Had ATC not asked him where he was I wonder at what stage he would have woken up to speak to ATC. Further, if on a procedural service, will another person wishing to fly the ILS be put in the hold until the current one has landed?

On another note, it is truly cringe worthy listening to some of the carp that pilots spew out on the radio. I take my hat off to the ATC folk for having to listen to it day in and day out. Some pilots just hear what they want to hear (usually the sound of their own voices). I could tell a few more stories of “great” airmanship displayed today but I fear I have bored you all by now. Hahahaha.

Always looking for adventure
Shoreham

They can send another aircraft outbound when another is established on the loc. If you are cleared to the procedure you can do it but in the UK they also seem to tell you you can descend with the procedure. Which as far as I see it is part of the procedure.

If being vectored you need to be cleared to intercept. Today in Bordeaux they flew me right through the inbound course of the rnav.

EGTK Oxford

As I am a humble IMCr pilot I have always thought you needed to be cleared onto the localiser, is this not the case?