Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

How would you define a "GA friendly" airport?

What are your favorite airfields / destinations ?

Also, what are the destinations that are on your TODO list?

Here is my list. Please note that I was a VFR-only pilot until recently. I still need to discover IFR flying in Europe.

Spa EBSP -> In the Belgium Ardennes. Field lies on a hill close to the Formula 1 circuit. Nice approach. Short walk downhill to the city center. Back with the taxi.

Deauville LFRG -> While the field itself is nothing special; It only takes a short taxi ride to Honfleur, and this picturesque town will make your girlfriend happy!

Koblenz ETRK -> Nice GA airfield on a hill in the Mosel valley. Good Greek restaurant on the field.

Ærø EKAE -> Beatiful island in the Danish Baltic sea. Small grass airfield. Free bicycles.

Idar Oberstein EDRG -> Small German grass field. Serve the best BBQ meat which you can order in the air.

On my TODO list are the Channel Islands and a flight to the Alps...

I really liked the East Friesian islands off the north coast of Germany. All were small enough to visit by bike which were available at the airport (or simply small enough to walk in some cases). No real hassle at the airports.

Of course it was beautifully sunny when I visited. Might be a difference story if the weather wasn't so good!

Similarly I love the islands off the west coast of Scotland. Scenery from the air is stunning in that area.

EIWT Weston, Ireland

I really liked the East Friesian islands off the north coast of Germany.

True, they are indeed well worth a visit! For example: Juist EDWJ is a nice island. It has a stone paved runway of 700m. Motorized transport is not allowed. There is a horse driven tram which you can use to get from the airport to the village.