Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Informal R/T and using local dialects on the radio

The thread about “Omitting Wilco” inspired me to ask the wider EuroGA community: Do you use informal language/dialect in R/T? If so, when/where?

Having learned to fly in East Frisia, I was exposed to East Frisian R/T which basically consists of variations of jo (yes) , moin (hello) and occasionally is klar (affirmative).

Landing at EDWF as a based pilot you might, after your opening call and stating landing intentions, get a reply consisting only of “jo, 26” which shall convey to you the information that you can land on runway 26 (obviously we are talking about an AFIS, not ATC field here, or more specifically one with a Flugleiter)

As a student pilot I felt right at home with this informal way of R/T and it never stopped me from using correct phraseology when flying elsewhere (other East Frisian airfields except Emden EDWE also have a tendency for friendly/informal radio talk). Obviously one has to be careful with “foreign” aircraft in the circuit but that never seemed to be a problem.

Low-hours pilot
EDVM Hildesheim, Germany

Friendly RT and even some jokes in an non busy environment make flying more enjoyable. It’s mostly the reason I always speak the local language when I can

EDLS Stadtlohn, also near the Dutch border but 150 km south of EDWF, is also quite informal (or at least it was when I visited it).

Many Czech aerodromes are, too, especially when everyone in the air is locally based. The most informal piece of R/T I hear (and use) from time to time is just a “click click” with the transmit button in lieu of “Roger”.

LKBU (near Prague), Czech Republic

Time and place, and feeling comfortable with AT.

Just as I will throw in Good morning talking to London I will use local language to say hello and goodbye in France and Germany. But I would never give or accept instructions in a language other than English as I am not proficient enough.