Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Interesting new option: converting EASA SPL licence to LAPL or PPL

Hi everyone,

I’m writing to you as I’ve tried for the last few weeks to figure out this situation but I somehow got more confused than when I started.

I’m an Italian pilot, holder of active licences for both gliders with self-launching rating as well as ultralight licence. These licences where both national, the glider one is ICAO, the ultralight is issued by the national aeroclub association.
Starting from March all glider pilots in Italy have been requested to convert their licences from ICAO to EASA, resulting in an European SPL licence. I have completed this process and I’m now holder of this licence with self-launching rating.
This licence basically changes the minimal activity required and more generally brings few advantages which I won’t explain here as not relevant to my question.

The one and biggest advantage for me is that it SEEMS there is a nice way to transition from this SPL to an EASA LAPL/PPL, with by far less required hours than starting from zero.
It is true that also in the past a glider pilot had a discount on the required flying hours for the PPL but it was very limited, now it seems like a very good option.

Still, I haven’t figured out how to do that and what is the path from one licence to the other. I tried to get the answers from a couple of good schools I visited but they were not so aware about this new option, plus very reluctant to explaining a shortcut to achieve my goal.

I also believe I will easily make it doing just the minimum amount of hours required as I’m very proficient flying with my ultralight throughout Europe, and have flown GA aircrafts regularly as “PIC” with an instructor next to me, so aware of the differences in weight and performances (generally far worse than Uls).