Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Is there anyone manufacturing new DME devices for small GA planes? (and GPS substitution)

As an instructor I like the ADF and DME combination. It’s good for situational awareness and position fix as part of PPL training.

It also allows you to teach holds and approaches as part of IMC training. You can also practice holds and approaches over commercial radio transmitters for no charges. And airfields that are in class G although the number with NDB has dropped vastly over the last few years.

Finally you have no database costs either.

Having said that I wouldn’t mind them putting Garmin 430w in.

Peter Quote
Also most things Narco made were crap

Unfortunately you are right the ADF was the worst thing closely followed by some of their DME’s however there was odd jem, the last of the NAV/Comm’s was quite good along with the area nav KNS80 look alike.

Last Edited by A_and_C at 17 Dec 18:44

The Declared Operational Coverage for EGKA’s NDB and DME is a puny 10nm, and in the case of the DME limited to altitude 5000’.

Oxford (EGTK), United Kingdom

I removed my KR87 ADF back in April of 2000 and replaced it with a much more useful AM/FM radio with a CD player. I have never missed it once in the last 16+ years.

Last Edited by NCYankee at 17 Dec 15:25
KUZA, United States

In the early days of GPS Narco produced a multi-sensor box that used GPS, VOR, ILS & DME ( and LORAN if you wished). It was a true airline style navigating box with built in redundancy.