Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Is this a good charter offer (Mooney)

I’m constantly looking to expand my charter options for greater flexibility.

I’m currently looking at several, one of which is an N-reg Mooney Bravo with a three-blade hot prop. It comes at 200 EUR/h + VAT dry. Fuel, TKS, O2, and satellite weather as used.

Is this a good deal? I have no previous experience with Mooney.

I’m particularly trying to evaluate if the actual hourly rate compared to wet charter prices is competitive – which obviously depends on fuel consumption for different flight profiles.

Any insight?

Hungriger Wolf (EDHF), Germany

This would be a very nice airplane to fly IFR. VFR you will have no use for the TKS, nor the O2.

You have to count 110 €/h or more in Avgas (16 gph or 60 lph), but that is what you would have to expect for an aircraft with that performance. You may reduce fuel consumption from 16 GPH to 13 GPH if the engine is capable of LOP and the owner consents.

I personally think that 240 € + 110 € = 350 €/h is overboard for that airplane when I can rent a (normally aspirated) SR22 wet for 280-330 €/h. But at the end of the day the right price is what someone is willing to pay for it. I cannot imagine there are many Mooney Bravos for rent on the market, so little basis for comparison.

IIRC the Bravo does not have very much useful load if you want to go anywhere.

But flying the Bravo will be a good experience.

LFPT, LFPN

Patrick wrote:

It comes at 200 EUR/h + VAT dry.

So you will end up at 300 Euros including fuel and VAT. Comparing it to charter prices in my area (members of flying clubs pay less of course) it seems to be reasonable. An IFR equipped Pa28 (no anti-icing or oxygen) will cost between 250 and 300 Euros per hour. For building hours it will not make much difference, but for going places the Mooney is the better deal as it is significantly faster.

EDDS - Stuttgart

what_next wrote: