Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Liability on a fly-in organiser

I spoke to a guy yesterday who has had some involvement in this…

Is there a liability on an organiser who does all of the following

• fixes a fly-in date and location
  • supplies enroute and terminal charts
  • generates routings and notam briefings
  • block-books hotel rooms
  • charges nontrivial money for the above e.g. €200-300

This thread is also relevant to some extent. Most of the fly-ins organised by other pilot groups, especially type-specific groups, fall more or less firmly into all the above list.

In fact one organiser (a major N European GA country) told me that if he didn’t do all of this, half the people would not come, on a trip which involves flying to another country.

I am no lawyer but I would think that the possession of a PPL implies competence in preflight and the execution of a flight. But what if the information supplied by the organiser is defective e.g. a notam briefing is supplied but omits something and the pilot gets a €5k fine?

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

Without knowing any laws on that, I would suggest that the pilot remains responsible for the accuracy of the information. Especially if the organizer prints that out somewhere together with the information itself.

LSZH, LSZF, Switzerland

Around here: Liable. Sure is it the pilot’s duty and resposibility to get a weather and NOTAM briefing for his route. But he is not required to get this briefing directly from the official source. He can employ a service provider who gets this information for him (which is what most commercial operators do, unless they are big enough to have their own in-house department for that). A commercial operator will be required to audit his provider in some way before relying on the information provided by him. But this can not be expected from a private person and every court in this country will follow that reasoning.