Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Londoner looking for a place to fly, and what's next ?

Hello!

After having been reading this friendly forum for a little while (and even before then, having read peter’s detailed aviation website), I am know taking this big step of opening a new discussion :)

The topic probably concerns more directly present, past or future Londoners, but my question is twofold and one half really invites everybody to comment.

To introduce myself briefly, I have been flying for the past 10 years in France (with some interruptions), where I got my PPL on a very charming DR400 (and where I got the TW variant to fly the even more charming DR220!). Having moved across France quite a bit, I got my PPL in northern France, then I flew a bit in Biarritz and then in Paris where I got the chance to fly more recent aircrafts (getting the EFIS variant), and where I did 1h of NVFR (that I really enjoyed, but I’ll come to that later). Today I have over 100h of SEP flight consisting of a mix of local flights with friends&family and over a dozen of cross country flights. I have passed the FCL055 VFR level 6 a year ago (funnily enough, that was before I knew I would be moving to london) which now allows me to fly in most places (although I haven’t had the time to fly across a border yet).
Besides that, I have been enjoying one of the 2 flight sim networks quite a lot where I have learned a lot about IFR. (which I think is a big help to any potential candidate to an IFR rating)