Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

LSA aircraft for FAA IFR training!

Hi

I have a customer that wants me to help him to get his FAA Instrument rating in Europe. Since I’m an FAA CFII I have told him I will help him with it. Now the problem is that he owns an LSA aircraft (L3 evolution, Czech registered) and he wants me to train him in his aircraft and he want to do the FAA check ride in his L3 evolution.

- I have no knowledge of LSA airplanes and my question is can he do his IFR training and check ride in his LSA aircraft if the airplane meets the FAR 91.205?
- Can I at least train certain hours in his aircraft and then the rest in an IFR equipped airplane?

The training is going to be in Europe

Many thanks

Last Edited by ABCD at 23 May 19:04
ESGT/ESGP, Sweden

You cannot file an IFR flight plan in Europe if the plane has “VFR only” on its Type Certificate, like the L3.
The FAA instrument rating can be done entirely under VFR conditions except for the 250 NM-cross country (14 CFR 61.65 (d)(ii)), which needs to be performed under IFR and an ATC clearance.
So at least part of the training might be feasible on the L3, provided that it is suitably equipped.

Friedrichshafen EDNY

This is really interesting.

The FAA accepts training done outside the US towards any license or rating, in any (appropriate class etc) aircraft type, with any instructor with appropriate qualifications (does not need to be an FAA CFI or CFII). It is an incredibly generous policy!

It would appear that – outside US airspace for sure – the whole of a US PPL could be done in an LSA and for the IR you would rent another plane for that one flight. I remember doing mine from Phoenix to Nogales in a PA28-161 at 11000ft, with the engine leaned by the CFII for maximum CHT (no; that’s not a misprint!)