Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Garmin GTN 650 update with a Mac?

10 Posts

I’m totally new to the GTN 650, and need to update an a/c in S.Africa mid-April (I’m in UK), pre-ferry to Kenya.

According to Garmin in addition to the serial no. (which I have), I need the system ID (which I don’t have, and needs winding it up to see). I’d prefer to only bring my Mac out, and FlyGarmin for Mac is in Beta.

Talking to Garmin they strongly advised using a PC, which would be a pain on this trip.

Has anyone experience with a Mac and updating a 650?

Swanborough Farm (UK), Shoreham EGKA, Soysambu (Kenya), Kenya

Yes and it works ok. But I’ve now moved to doing with the iPad and the flightstream 510, and that’s so much easier that I would suggest you look into it

EGTF, LFTF

Thanks, Denopa, looks an interesting solution.

Cost is a bit eye-watering for a “SD card”, however sophisticated.

Do the updates really take 40mins? Ground power’s a bit theoretical where we’ll be operating, unfortunately, and security, if anyone knew what it was, a problem.

Swanborough Farm (UK), Shoreham EGKA, Soysambu (Kenya), Kenya

An iPad and a Bad Elf Wombat will do it, too. But your subscription must be with Jeppesen, not with Garmin.

ELLX

Can’t answer on 650…but running Windows on an Mac works excellent. Many options are available, I use “Parallels Desktop for Mac”

ESOW, Sweden

Updates from the iPad to the GTN take less than a minute without chart, 10 minutes with it.

I agree the cost is large. For me it adds a big moving map (the iPad) with georeferenced charts driven by my panel’s GPS, so excellent accuracy; flight plan transfers is cool but not as transformative as with the GNS.

Last Edited by denopa at 12 Mar 19:40
EGTF, LFTF

@2greens1red wrote:

Talking to Garmin they strongly advised using a PC, which would be a pain on this trip.