Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Kanardia EFIS and others

From Slovenia, affordable yet not cheapo – looks good.
I have no interest or experience with the company but thought it worth mentioning.
Not, at first sight, for certified aircraft, though.

http://www.kanardia.eu

Last Edited by at 10 Jun 21:40
EBZH Kiewit, Belgium

Here is a portable EFIS which seems at an attractive price point. I have an old Garmin 196 in the no gyro Cub, but my concern with these gizmos is you allow creep in what you regard is ok for VFR.

Oxford (EGTK), United Kingdom

The Aero Friedrichshafen show used to be full of these. I suspect a lot of people had a go, since it is quite easy to knock one up with an off the shelf AHRS module and a colour LCD, and then you exhibit it for the homebuilt/UL markets and see if there is any interest… Last time though I saw mostly just the big players, like Dynon above.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

https://aerovonics.com/av-30

I have to say I like the look of this be a great Vacuum replacement.

Uncertified:

Administrator

Yes. There is always the for ever vapourware worry.

This looks great but as said above at the moment it’s vapourware, at the moment the Garmin G5 is the only game in town and I would not be surprised to see a mini arc function software upgrade.

The AV30 at least looks like it might be the same front size as the existing

The market has been ripe, at the right time in the past, for specific slide-in replacements. The KI256, costing around $10k depending on the version, has been the most obvious one, but nobody (not even Honeywell themselves) have managed to bring out a certified one that actually exists. But these windows of opportunity are closing as e.g. Garmin (G5) eat bits around the edges, people refit their planes, scrap the planes, etc. It’s a dynamic scene and you have to get a product out there at the right moment.

Administrator