Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

New Zealand Pilots license in Europe / Jodel on a Permit

I own a UK registered Jodel on LAA permit to fly . I would like to fly across to europe . My license and Passport are from New Zealand although I am a resident in the UK some 25 years . A/c insurance is english.
Can I legally fly over to Europe – I get contradicting advice on this – can anyone point me where the facts are written up .
Many thanks
Craig

Scootss90
Mayploe , Kent UK, United Kingdom

You can fly it in the UK as you do now on basis of it being not-easa, if you have a UK PPL licenece you can fly anywhere to Europe (but remember aircraft paper is a non-easa PermitToFly, some will tell you all bunch of stories on that, but honestly just go for it)

On a NZ PPL, I would say no without individual NAAs consent, it will be on a case by case rather than something valid for all Europe, but here is a quick temporary fix that will work for France: get a UK NPPL SSEA on basis of your PPL and with class 2 medical you should be able to fly to France (no one has asked yet if medical and NPPL should be issued by the same authority), of course you can get a UK PPL CAA or EASA one…

I am not sure if there are countries in Europe who automatically validate an ICAO ppl for annex2/1?

Last Edited by Ibra at 07 Feb 21:20
Paris/Essex, France/UK, United Kingdom

This question seems to me about the most complicated combination of factors that could be created.