Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

First aircraft purchase - documentation & maintenance required to keep it airworthy?

Hi all,

I’m new to this forum, having spent the last few days trying to find a similar question already; but didn’t manage so here we go -

I’m a fairly inexperienced pilot, while I’ve had my PPL(A) since 2006, I’ve only accumulated around 200 hours in my logbook – when younger there was time but no money to fly, later there was money to fly but no time; now I’m finally approaching a stage in life where there are both, and hoping to fly a lot more the next 20 years than the previous 20 :-)

I’ve been considering (or rather, dreaming of) buying an airplane for many years, and all of a sudden I found my absolute dream plane for sale and just went ahead and bought it; thinking I will figure out the rest later.

So, I just purchased an airplane and am trying to figure out a number of things:

• What’s the complete amount of “paperwork” required to keep an airplane legal to fly (within EU/EASA rules – plane purchased in Finland, but planning to bring it to Spain if feasible, if not I’ll just keep it in Finland and use it when I’m there)? I’m trying to find a definitive list, covering everything such as all registrations needed (including radio permissions, etc), insurances, inspections required. The aircraft is coming out of military inventory, and from a civilian point of view basically doesn’t exist at this point in time (except being listed as an Annex II aircraft) – so any kind of documentation/registration will have to be done from scratch.
  • When it comes to maintenance, I remember from PPL school mentions of “if you own your own aircraft, you can do the 50 hour maintenance yourself”, but that was almost 20 years ago and I’m sure things have changed. What is the required maintenance & maintenance intervals, and which parts can legally be done yourself (and how are they in that case documented?)