Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Presentation and project C170

Hello Everyone,
I spoke with a friend about my desire to own my cessna and he told me, why don’t you
buy an n-reg and do the maintenance yourself ?
Here started the crazy project !
But I have two possibilities, either i will buy my cessna n-reg in Europe
or I bring it from the US to France.
The first possibility is easy, the second possibility is great because
there are more options and the adventure will be exceptional (but difficult too).

My name is Benjamin i’m 28 years old, i’m a helicopter mechanic and i’m resourceful
in general mecanic. I have the ppl a with 80 hours of flight most of them in the robin dr400.
I live in the south of france and I give me 4 month to catch all the information and
6 month after to prepar the travel.

I research a c170 or a c172 and i would like to know your experience and your advices .

Did you already do the crossing from the US to Europe with this type of aircraft ? (I think a single engine piston.)
What checks to be carried out and traps to avoid on this cessna before I buy it?

I’m sorry if my text is too long but Thank’s everyone to read me.

I’ve been dreaming about it for several years now I want it.

Glad to meet you.!!

Last Edited by bsamba at 28 Jun 13:03
Benzouille
LFTF, LFOW, LFAG, LFAT, LFKA, EGJB, France

That pic shows a 120.

Even on an N-reg., all maintenance work must be signed off. For many of the more basic things, this Ign-off can be by the owner pilot. But anything beyond that atill needs a sign-off by an A&P. And annuals must be signed off by an IA.

So, the feasibility of what you are planning to do hugely depends on whether you have an FAA A&P/IA at hand that is willing to „work“ with you.

Do you have that? There are not so many FAA certificated mechanics in France, mostly due to the language barrier.

Last Edited by boscomantico at 28 Jun 13:51
Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany