Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Recent loss of National 102 freight 747 in Afghanistan

Apologies if this is discussed elsewhere on the forum, but I found the brief video clip of this accident truly horrifying.

There's an informed preliminary assessment here:

Swanborough Farm (UK), Shoreham EGKA, Soysambu (Kenya), Kenya

Long thread running in the R&N part of Pprune.

Horrific....the theory that cargo broke loose and moved aft looks plausible...horrific....

YPJT, United Arab Emirates

As a previous Cargo pilot myself one of the more dreaded scenarios was shifting weight. We never flew that sort of cargo and not the same mass, but nonetheless, a shift to the rear is a potential killer in any cargo plane, even a small one. Safety nets always did their job for me though.

My thoughts go to their families.

ESSB, Stockholm Bromma

What would a pilot do in case of load shift? Are there procedures? How would you try to recover?

What would a pilot do in case of load shift? Are there procedures? How would you try to recover?

There is absolutely nothing you can do. Nothing at all. For some time, I flew cargo with a Metroliner, an ugly long thin aeroplane with smallish control surfaces (also known as "San Antonio sewage pipe"). Weight and balance was crucial and any major load shift (or miscalculation) would have led to non-recoverable situations.

Once you hit the stop of any control surface, you have done what can be done. If you have a low or high thrust line, you can try adding or removing power, but usually the momentums generated by power changes are small compared to those achieved via control surfaces (they must be!).

EDDS - Stuttgart