Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Rotary - turbulence

I have very little rotary time so no experience of how they behave in proper turbulence be it inside some bumpy cloud or just clear air with a northerly airstream across lots of ground. So if anyone can write from experience and compare with fixed wing in the same conditions – what do you reckon. My impression is that they should “suffer” much less?

On cruise, they seem much stable than aircrafts due to the big inertial gyro above (you could say the same for a fixed wings with large torque to weight ratio), you don’t feel much tilting or yaw

Close to the ground while they are stable they get too much sensitive to ground effects, I did few hours and I really struggled to learn how to fly rotary close to the ground in calm air, so can’t say much about how they handle in gusts vs fixed wings, someone who flew both a lot can say more?

Some fly them in windy and gusty imc conditions close to the Alps, they don’t seem to care mich above waves or rotors as airliners do !

I don’t think you can get a PPL(H) in 45h as easy as in PPL(A), but will love to meet someone who did it in a schools ones (like someone getting a PPL on tailwheels with tarmac runway)

Last Edited by Ibra at 30 Jul 20:36
Paris/Essex, France/UK, United Kingdom

Nobody?

For what it’s worth I have flown my 3.6kg model helicopter in weather that would be too much for a C172 or for that matter a similarly sized r/c plank (fixed wing), but I too am curious as to whether that capability extrapolates up to an R22 or larger helicopter.

Last Edited by kwlf at 31 Jul 20:20

The RAF Sea King SAR helicopter used to practice near my home. I’ve seen it hold steady position level with the cliff top, and close to it, with the wind gusting off the cliff strong enough to make me stagger as I walked the clifftop path.

Maoraigh
EGPE, United Kingdom