Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

PPL training in Spain or France (or other)?

Hello everyone,

I have narrowed down my search to either Spain (Jerez) or France (Limoges), mainly for the weather and the fact that I am restricted in how much time I can take off work.
Two schools have agreed to take me on a 4 week intensive flight training program (I have already completed my EASA theory exams), but the question is which would be the better country to train in, more in terms of obstacles for a student pilot?

I have also made enquiries to Bartolini in Poland and a school in Greece, but they were not willing to consider anything less than 2 months for flight training which would mean splitting it over two years which is not ideal.

Ideally I would love to train in the UK as English is my mother tongue, but the weather could be an obstacle if I take 4 weeks off work and then only end up flying for half those days.

Many thanks in advance

I have no experience with Spain or France, but if you are Swiss based (from your username), research a bit about the requirements to fly in Switzerland afterwards. I think you need to at least make a mountain flying training (probably a flight of 1-2 hours in the Alps). Switzerland has some additional challenges which you won’t meet when training in constantly nice weather (Spain) and flat terrain (UK), but lack others like flying over water.

Last Edited by Vladimir at 28 Mar 12:04
LSZH, LSZF, Switzerland

The French option might need you to speak French When I looked into this stuff in 2011, contacting many FTOs and speaking to many pilots, I found virtually nobody non-French (by which I mean other than living in France and speaking French fluently) was training in France, for various reasons.

The Spanish one probably speaks English because it is full of English students – if it is the one I am thinking of. Jerez has been a popular place for this stuff.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom