Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Learn to fly in Europe

Hello,

I am sure this question has been answered before. However, I am new to this place, so maybe you can forgive me.

I have recently developed a strong interest in flying GA in real life. Up until now I have been flying in simulators only. This helped me to get somewhat familiar with flying, so I am not a total newbie. Recently, I did an intro flight here in the US and, obviously, now I am hooked. Since I will be moving to Europe within the next 3 months, I decided it would be better to just do my license there.

However, reading many articles about GA flying in Europe makes me rather sad, disappointed, and confused.
It appears that if one wants to fly GA, he or she should do so in the USA period. This is an observation only and not my opinion, as I haven’t flown on my own in either continent. So I am asking you, is my dream of flying GA about to be over with me moving to Europe? Looking at this forum the answer seems to be “no,” but looking at certain blog posts the answer would be “probably.”

Somehow, I am glad I found this forum though, since it shows that there are enough people actually flying GA in Europe! All the other results I had found were usually blog posts about that this and that is bad in Europe compared to the USA.

Thanks!

Always keep the horizon in view!
LSZH

Welcome to EuroGA, cucumber

GA is easier in the USA and the scene out there is a lot bigger than taking Europe as a whole. Europe is not a single uniform area but a number of distinct countries. People who have flown in the USA and in Europe will tend to comment accordingly. But there is no problem flying around Europe if you get yourself organised and just get on with it. There is a great deal of wonderful flying to be done in Europe – see e.g. some trip writeups that I did.