Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

CBIR vs American FAA IR & conversion to CBIR

I’m struggling to find the time to study for 7 exams. (Translate that as after months I’ve barely touched the books)
This has been going on for a year now.
Despite the frustration I don’t see it much changing.
I’m not very good at studying and when the subject matter gets a bit bogged down with unnecessary detail, my attention span dries to nil.
I have just seen an advert for American Fliers, who are offering a 3day study and theory test on the 4th. Plus a 7 day training and skills test for the IR in Florida.
Supposing I double those times (I’m hoping not to be that dumb but hey….) and allow for it in all planning. Plus add a chunk of prep before setting off, what’s the catch?
Obviously the weather could scupper the flight training but I’d need less margin than an overseas PPL attempt. But the theory trip should be ok.
I haven’t ironed out exactly what is required at this end but I heard 1 exam and 1 flight test.
Can anyone provide any details on the School I mentioned or confirm what is required back here to convert?
Thanks. P.

United Kingdom

There is still the FAA IR exam, which contrary to rumours is not trivial.

The FAA IR training and checkride can be really hard. Mine was as hard as anyone could imagine.

You need the TSA and visa stuff. Some general notes here.

A few of the EASA IR exams are fairly trivial especially if you skip all the book study and just bang the computer QB (question bank) which is what most people do because the material is mostly not that relevant to flying. The worst ones are Air Law and Met and I did those purely on the QB, banging them until I was getting 85% consistently. Some notes here from my ICAO IR to JAA IR conversion in 2011/2012 which is very similar and I doubt the exams are much different too.