Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

The influence of good Avionics user interface on Single Pilot IFR

I just posted this on COPA. As it might be of interest here as well and, when looking closer, is not really restricted to Cirrus aircraft, I thought I might post it here as well:

My background is in software development and I’ve always been interested in user experience design. Design is how it looks like and how it works. People can be trained to operate a complicated machine but the more complicated it is, the more opportunities for mistakes do exist. My opinion is that we should always strive to design machines that support a human activity and not train humans to operate the complicated machine. Even in the book “The Inmates Are Running The Asylum” Alan Cooper mentions an aviation accident caused by a non-forgiving user experience. An American Airlines flight crashed because the FMS allowed the pilot to enter a waypoint that was far away and beyond a mountain from the aircraft’s present position.

As I’m about to purchase my first own aircraft and am training for the instrument rating, I am comparing Avidyne R9 and Garmin Perspective from a UX point of view. Although it is likely that I will fly a lot of hours, I’m not after any career in aviation. Mastery of the machine is not my goal. The aircraft is merely a personal transportation device. Although I enjoy flying, actually quite a lot, the use of the aircraft is to go places. It is the business at the destination what is important, not the way to the place.