Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

The Netherlands: Official aviation weather available only with AOPA membership...

The Dutch national weather forecasting service (KNMI) has moved the aviation weather data from their public website to a restricted website.
Access to this website is limited to licensed pilots, and you need to become a member of the national AOPA (or another affiliated Dutch branch organization which is on their list) in order to get access.

I contacted KNMI to request an account because since I am a licensed pilot I do have a verifiably significant interest in Aviation Weather.
Initially they refused my request for a login telling me to become a (paid) member of a branch organization.
I told them that I have no interest in becoming a member.
I’ve sent them a copy of my license and logbook to prove my “significant interest”, and finally got a login to the website.
In their reply they were stating that they might charge me for administrative costs in the future, and this costs will probably outdo the membership cost.

Now I’m not a lawyer but some strange things are happening here:

- KNMI has a legal requirement to supply pilots with Aviation Weather (law here, in Dutch only)
- Pilots have a legal requirement to do flight preparation, and getting a Weather briefing is one of them.
- KNMI (a government body) is forcing pilots to become paid member of a political association (what AOPA and the like essentially are). I wonder whether this is legal at all?

How is access to aviation weather arranged in other European countries?

Not that I know much about that but unlike the U.S. we in Europe don’t have this rule that whatever is taxpayer funded has to be public and in the open. We probably have a similar rule in the EU. It would make sense I think and provide a lot of benefit in many areas.

Last Edited by Stephan_Schwab at 26 Jan 16:09
Frequent travels around Europe