Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Summer Flying Holiday Aug 2019

After the success of our trip last year, circa 10 days we’re beginning to look at this year.
We went Jersey, Brittany, Bordeaux, Carcassonne, EmpuriaBrava, Grenoble, Albertville, and home.
So in a similar way to we are considering another circular sort of route.
Thinking of Cannes, Venice, Zadar, Hvar, Locano, Home.
That isn’t planned in a flight sense so can be modified to suit.
Anyone and everyone welcome to match the route, some or all of it (the more the merrier) or pick one location and it’ll be a fly-in.
We’re heading off on Thursday 15th or Friday 16th August for 10-12 days.
Unfortunately VFR only so we’ll have to be flexible but I’m always optimistic that even a largely distorted route/destination list will still be a holiday.
I’d welcome any feedback on the destinations even if it’s an ‘avoid’ as I have no experience outside of France.
I Have been told Croatia is very friendly and no hassle but different people can have different experiences on different days.

United Kingdom

Croatia is friendly and Hvar a wonderful destination for a plane that doesn’t mind grass. The country is not Schengen, but Brac is a perfect port of entry for Hvar (about a 2 minute flight away). In fact, there’s almost no need to start your engine to get to Hvar; just push it off the cliff and glide down!

Tököl LHTL

WhiskeyPapa wrote:

Just push it off the cliff and glide down!

Can’t see how you can be PIC at controls while doing that push

Paris/Essex, France/UK, United Kingdom

Quote Can’t see how you can be PIC at controls while doing that push

That’s what Pax are for! ;-)

United Kingdom

Croatia is a GA heaven See some of my trip reports here.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

Thanks for the Link Peter I’ll get right on it.

United Kingdom

The first part of this trip (work dependant)