Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

ADF and European navigation (merged)

http://publicapps.caa.co.uk/docs/33/ORS4No1476.pdf ORS4 1476 local copy

While it sounds promising the section it refers to in the ANO 2016 is just for airways. I fear UK Europe will never achieve the safety standard of the FAA in my lifetime. The FAA allowing NDB overlay GPS procedures as standard for GPS with the correct database, since forever, or at least over a decade.

Oxford (EGTK), United Kingdom

I think that option has not been available to German pilots, due to their annual “IFR certificate”.

That’s all history. It’s EU law. As stated before: not flying ifr procedures with ndb → not required.

always learning
LO__, Austria

I have been flying NDB approaches since I took my IR in 1978 and there is no way I have ever been able to reliably fly an NDB hold and approach as accurately as I can now using the GPS.

Because they fly them using GPS, like practically everybody else, and there has never been any enforcement.

Hundreds of SR22s were imported into Europe with no ADF and no DME and nobody ever got picked up for it. There were rumours spread around of ramp checks and pilot busts but none ever checked out.

My guess is that a prosecution would fail (in the UK) if you got a lawyer with even half a brain.

Also most ADFs available to GA have been crap in reliability. The KR87 is pretty good, and the Becker one probably likewise. The rest is mostly junk and when it packs up, people don’t bother repairing it. I think that option has not been available to German pilots, due to their annual “IFR certificate”.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

If only we lived in Sweeden.

There are 4 airports with a 75 miles radius of where I life. All 4 have NDB approaches and only one has a GPS approach. I often wonder way people splash out 15K on the latest GPS and at the same time pull the ADF.

A_and_C wrote: