Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

European Tour Aug/Sep 2022

Hello new friends,

I am a 9-year pilot (FAA, PPL, IFR, SF50 Type) and recently crossed over 2000 hours. Most was in a Cirrus SR-22 and for the last 3 years I have been flying the Cirrus SF-50 Vision Jet. Several trips across borders… (Mexico, Bahamas, Canada).

In May of 2020 my wife and I were supposed to depart for a trip around the world but instead the world shut down. While we think COVID is pretty much over as a limiting factor, we still can’t make it from Japan to Alaska without landing in Russia… (I wonder when that will sound like a good idea again.)

I need to be in Spain for the first week of September so we have decided to make a less ambitious trip across the pond and spend the week before and the week after exploring Europe.

We have done central Europe pretty well… Not looking for stops in England, Scotland, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, or Hungary.

This leads me to tons of questions that a group of EuroGA pilots probably have the answers to!

If you look at the attached early draft calendar you’ll see what we are trying to do. Obviously, one or two nights isn’t enough to do ANY of these cities justice… but this trip is about the flying as much as the destinations. We will not be locked into any plan if weather or other factors would make it prudent to change the route.

What airports meet the following criteria?

1) close to a uniquely great / memorable destination. (we would love to go to Ghent… but alas, no nearby airport.)

2) Accommodating to GA… ease, avoiding wasted time and unreasonable costs (particularly surprises)

Right now the cities being considered are…

• Bergen (or Stavanger),
  • Copenhagen (or Sweden? Talinn? Riga?)
  • Poznan Poland (or Warsaw? Gdansk? Krakow?)
  • Ljubjana (or Bratislava? Portoroz? Triest? Pula?)
  • Does a day-trip from Barcelona to Mallorca or Menorca make sense? ($100 Tapas?)