Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

UK LAMS maintenance schedule, and going to another EASA reg?

Can anyone explain what the UK LAMS maintenance regime is compared to the maintenance under CAMO in the rest of Europe ?
Could this regime give trouble when going from G-reg to eg. D-reg ? The shop I used for a prebuy said the maintenance paperwork (G-reg under LAMS) was incomplete and a (possible) change of EASA registration or maintenance regime might be a problem.

You might want to draw a picture because I’m far from an expert on these matters :-)

EBST, Belgium

I don’t know the details (there are many here who do) but in general

• on a registry transfer, the exporting registry’s maintenance regime has to do an Export CofA (the only importing registry I know of which doesn’t need this is Guernsey) and that goes over the whole plane; this is presumably not needed if going intra EU reg
  • any required differences can be taken care of in one step

If the paperwork is incomplete then you have a problem anyway. Lots of people lose their logbooks or parts of logbooks, because it is normal for these to be retained by the maintenance company. A very dumb practice IMHO but most owners are not really that involved, and the maintenance business likes it that way because keeping the logbooks is another barrier to changing companies. I can see various other issues e.g. asking the maint co. to co-operate with a sale of the plane is asking them to do something which will result in them losing that business.

Did the shop say how it is incomplete? It still has to be EASA Part M compliant. So I wonder if the issue is inherent in a G to “non G EU” transfer, or just bad record keeping?

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom