Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

VFR Europe trip in July, tips appreciated!

Hi I am planning to go visit some friends scattered all over Europe this summer.

As I am quite new to flying outside of my comfort zone in southern Sweden, Denmark and top north of Germany I like some input and tips.
Don’t be afraid to call me crazy or stupid, but please don’t just tell me that, help me out instead.
I will go in my Socata TB-9 Tampico with extended tanks, and most of the time not clime very high.

In an early stage I’m planning the following route:
ESMS – EDAY – EDDC – LKKB – LOWW – LOWG – LJLJ – LIPQ – LIPV – LIMJ – LFMN – LFMD – LFML – LFLU – ELLX – EBGB – EHEH – EDDW – EDHL – ESMS

I am sure there are good alternatives to many of the airports and some is not intended to land on, just for navigation at this stage.
I need AVGAS so that is a must, also even if my airplane is IFR equipped I myself need some additional training before skill test……
So VFR weather is a must.

I have no time frame or a loose one, I don’t have to be home a fixed date and I plan on 2 – 3 weeks starting around the 8 of July.
I plan to take it easy and stay a day or two at many locations. But 20 airports in 2 weeks staying over… well you get the point I guess.

So what do I need then? MAPS and PLATES ! A really good start don’t you think? But I also need tips and pointers, ideas and if anyone is willing to lend maps or charts or make some copies I would be happy! I am also unfamiliar with where to obtain good weather forecasts in southern Europe.

I will be flying alone or with a friend, I do have room to spare if someone needs a lift part way.

ESMS

Stay away from LOWW. There are alternatives, even smaller VFR fields. If you really want a big airport, try Bratislava instead and save landing and handling. There is a train from Bratislava to downtown Vienna (1 h) for just a few euros round trip, and you can take the opportunity to visit the city.