Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

VFR Maps

One thing that I would have like to have seen come out of all this euro harmonization is a common VFR map and I'm sure this would improve safety and reduce infringements as well.

I've always thought that the UK CAA maps are pretty good and i'm also a big fan of FAA maps. I especially like the fact that you can get a 1:250 000 TMA maps as well. Wouldn't that be handy for the London TMA?

I've seen that transair have produced a 1:100 000 map that covers the whole of the UK is this the same as the Jean Bossy map that covers France?

I should add as an instructor I never fly off the creases of the map anyway but I do dream about doing an IMC course thats takes us to some cheap approaches in france.

The map I currently have is out of date anyway but I do fly with a digital map which is upto date.

I've always thought that the UK CAA maps are pretty good

Yes, and I think the German DFS maps are great. Ah, and my friend Patrick from Paris considers the French maps to be great.

I think Jeppesen got the business of cross country VFR flying. Their maps used to be terrible but they have gotten better in the last years and while I still consider the German DFS maps to be better, I have been flying with Jeppesen only for years because I know they are consistent.

Most pilots never leave their home country (or home traffic pattern) so there is sufficient business selling country specific VFR maps and I think most CAAs are legally required to produce those maps. The German DFS offers maps of surrounding countries which apparently are quite popular, otherwise they wouldn't keep on producing them.

I think the FAA maps work well because they are uncluttered which is possible because of the widespread Class E to 17999ft, the universal 18000ft Class A base, and various other implied conventions.