Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Is it legal to use a Go-Pro in an airplane?

I am a PPL student and am using a Gopro to record all my flights (including ATC audio). Mainly for looking back and learning from the mistakes I make.
In the Netherlands I am not worried about the legality, especially as I am only using it for myself and won’t share it on internet.

At the end of my PPL training I will make a navigation trip to Belgium or Germany. Only I don’t know if it is allowed to record with a Gopro.

Anyone has experience with this or some advice?

EHEH, Netherlands

I can’t speak for Belgium but in Germany it is definitely illegal to publish a video with an ATC audio track but this is not enforced. I’m not really sure about the recording itself. I think it would be illegal to record e.g. a conversation on the phone without the consent of all participants. OTOH many ATC units do record everything without asking each pilot for permission.

Anyway, even the publication of small snippets of radio communication on YouTube is tolerated, we do it from time to time. I’m an FI and I had students once ore twice who did this as well. I think it’s a good idea and this should really be no concern for you even if you publish it.

Last Edited by terbang at 21 Aug 11:36
EDFM (Mannheim), Germany

First for internal & external mounts, the approval of internal mount is just pure red tape, while it make sense for a 100kg VHS camera, hardly an issue with GoPro weight & volume (off there is always as smart pilot to say a GoPro can obstruct pilot view and cause mid-air collisions and loss of control ), for internal mounts, if the GoPro falls it was not attached in the first place ! for external mounts, there are some serious technical considerations even for a GoPro, for start it is hard to get an email reply from EASA manufacturers (sometimes speaking French, Czech can help )

Worth reading these docs from EASA & UK CAA and make your mind about it: